Overview of NUHW


NUHW was originally established by the mother group of Niigata Sougou Gakuen in 2001. It had two faculties consisting of five departments. In the Faculty of Medical Technology (FMT) there were four departments: the Departments of Physical Therapy (PT), Occupational Therapy (OT), Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences (ST), and Health and Nutrition (HN), which aimed to train certified dieticians. In the Faculty of Social Welfare, there was the Department of Social Welfare (DSW). It aimed to train certified social workers (CSW) and/or psychiatric social workers (PSW). The initial enrollment quota of the five departments was 260, and there were 322 students enrolled in the first year.

Subsequent developments

NUHW repeatedly enhanced the number of departments and the enrollment quota. It newly established the Department of Health and Sports (HS) in 2005, and the Department of Nursing (NR) in 2006, and the Course of Care Work which aims to obtain qualifications as CSW and CCW (Certified Care Workers) was newly established in the DSW. In 2007 the Department of Prosthetics & Orthotics and Assistive Technology was added to the FMT, the Faculty of Health Sciences was newly established, and the three departments of NH, HS and NR in the FMT were transferred and reorganized into three faculties and eight departments. In 2010 the Department of Health Informatics was newly established in the Faculty of Healthcare Management, and in 2011 the Department of Clinical Engineering and Medical Technology was added to the FMT. Currently we have a system with four faculties and eleven departments, the enrollment quota is 2,440 students, and we plan to increase this to 2,840 students by fiscal year 2014.

On the other hand, the number of enrolled students in April 2011 had already reached 2,893, and this number exceeded 3,000 in 2012. Moreover, in 2005 the Master's Program and in 2007 the Doctoral Program were launched in the Graduate School, and the number of enrolled students in both of these programs combined reached 72 in April 2011.